Back in the vegan saddle

Last month, I had a physical and talked to my doctor about diet, exercise, the whole shebang.

I told her I had tried going vegan last May and loved the way it made me feel – the weight loss, the energy, the satisfaction of showing some will power.

I told her I had tried going vegan for a month last May, though I snapped and binged on the 25th day. So now I’m giving myself a safety valve.

I’m going omnivore on Sundays.

After six straight days of grains, fruits, veggies and – hmm, . . . can’t think of any ands – I get to eat anything I want. The things I had avoided all week. The cookies, the steak, the chicken quesadillas. If it has egg, cheese or meat – preferably beef – I’m glommin’ it.

It’s still hard to get through the weeks sometime, primarily because it’s really difficult to come up with interesting recipes night after night. I mean, I’ve just jettisoned some pretty huge food groups, making my usually decent repertoire pretty thin.

But I’m determined to make it through to my April appointment to see if I can make an impact on my weight and health.

 

 

2 thoughts on “Back in the vegan saddle

  1. Do you eat any seeds, sprouted foods? or nuts? They can add more dimensions to your diet when eating vegan. Do you know how to combine your foods so that you are getting good amounts of protein with your meals?

    1. I eat beans and nuts. Love ’em. But I need to learn how to prepare them better. I don’t know much about combining my foods. I hate to get into anything too complicated.

Leave a comment